Skip to Main Content

UFOArchives: Your Guide to finding UFO-related archives in libraries: "Coming Soon" and Project Blue Book

UFOs flying over ocean

(image courtesy of Wikimedia Commons)

Project Blue Book and other Government Documents

Project Blue Book - US National Archives 

https://www.archives.gov/research/military/air-force/ufos

 

The Black Vault (US Government documents released via FOIA requests) 

https://www.theblackvault.com/documentarchive/ 

 

Project Blue Book Copies of Records, 1947-1977 (photocopied records and material for TV show) 

https://oac.cdlib.org/findaid/ark:/13030/kt8v19q87g/?query=ufo 

 

 

"COMING SOON" - major collections in the process of being processed and/or donated

Chris Rutkowski UFO Archives (U Manitoba – NOT YET PROCESSED) 

News articles about the archive: 

https://www.universityaffairs.ca/news/news-article/the-university-of-manitobas-archive-of-the-paranormal-just-became-a-little-more-extraordinary/ 

https://news.umanitoba.ca/the-falcon-lake-ufo-files/

 

John E. Mack Archives - Archives of the Impossible at Rice University

John Mack was a Harvard professor and psychiatrist, and a key figure in the UFO abductee/experiencer movement. Rice University acquired the John E. Mack archives in 2023. It is primarily a print collection of circa 200 boxes, with a companion archive located at Harvard University (also unprocessed as of Summer 2023). More descriptive information to come as processing begins:

https://libguides.rice.edu/impossiblearchives

 

Stanton Friedman (donated to State Archives of New Brunswick, CA - “coming soon”) 

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/new-brunswick/provincial-archives-stanton-friedman-records-1.5315664