My name is Pete McDonnell - I'm a librarian and Associate Professor at Bemidji State University, in Bemidji, MN. I'm very interested in Unidentified Anomalous Phenomenon (or UAP, also known as UFOs) and related anomalous phenomena, and am keen to share this information with others.
So, I've put together this not-quite-comprehensive resource to help you discover UFO-related archives, most of which are housed in academic libraries in the United States (with a few exceptions)
I hope you find this resource useful. Please contact me if you have any questions about the guide - I'm happy to help!
Last revision: May 27, 2023
Creator: Pete McDonnell, Bemidji State University, A. C. Clark Library
tel: (218) 755-2967
These are highly-recommended, premier archival collections of UFO researchers and experiencers, housed at Rice University's Fondren Library, Woodson Research Center. New collections are being continually added to the Archives of the Impossible, so check back often!
Archives of the Impossible at Rice University
Direct links to important collections:
Anne and Whitley Strieber Collection
Jacques Vallee UFO and paranormal phenomena papers -- under embargo until 2028.
Richard F. Haines Ufology papers
Brenda Denzler Ufology archive
Larry W. Bryant UFO research collection
John E. Mack Archives - Archives of the Impossible at Rice University
John Mack was a Harvard professor and psychiatrist, and a key figure in the UFO abductee/experiencer movement. Rice University acquired the John E. Mack archives in 2023. It is primarily a print collection of circa 200 boxes, with a companion archive located at Harvard University (also unprocessed as of Summer 2023). More descriptive information to come as processing begins:
AFU - Archives for the Unexplained (Largest collection of research materials on UFO's and the paranormal in the world, based in Sweden)
Anomaly Archives (non-profit organization that seeks to preserve and disseminate scientific research into anomalous phenomena, including UFOs)
J Allen Hynek personal papers (Northwestern)
William E. Jones Collection on UFOs (Ohio State University)
Betty and Barney Hill Papers, 1961-2006 (University of New Hampshire)
Richard F. Haines papers, 1945-2017 (Separate from Rice University's archive of his papers)
Kenneth Ring papers (academic researcher of Experience and UFOs)
R. Leo Sprinkle papers (U Wyoming psychologist researching abductee/experiencer)
James E. McDonald papers, 1904-1997 (Atmospheric physicist and major UFO researcher)
Frank B. Salisbury papers, 1943-2011 (Plant physiologist and UFO researcher)