Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Find Newspaper Articles

Finding Newspapers and Newspaper Articles at the BSU Library

                newspapers


We have a variety of newspapers in different formats available for use at the

A.C. Clark Library, with both current and historical coverage.

National and International Newspapers:

  • ProQuest US Newsstream

    US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune."  Also includes the Minneapolis Star-Tribune.

  • OneSearch 

Newspapers may also be found via the library's OneSearch, which searches across multiple databases simultaneously. Here is a short tutorial on using OneSearch to find newspaper articles.


Minnesota & Local Newspapers

The Bemidji Pioneer is the local paper for the Bemidji area. The A.C. Clark Library caries the full span of the newspaper in a mixture of formats. Please note: there is no index for older issues. This means that from roughly 2006 and going back, you'll need to know the year and month of the event you are researching so that you can locate the appropriate reel of microfilm to view. 

  • The Bemidji Pioneer, (also known as Bemidji Weekly Pioneer, Daily Pioneer, Bemidji Herald) April 1896 to current date is held in microfilm, located in Room 121. The microfilm can be accessed during library building hours and there are machines available to view and scan the microfilm. Printing is limited--we highly recommend you scan images to a storage device or email images to yourself, for a higher quality reproduction. Paper copies of the newspaper are held until replaced by microfilm. Online access to recent issues is available--please contact the Reference Desk for assistance: 218-755-3342.
  • Bemidji Daily Pioneer (1904-1922): The full-text of the Bemidji Daily Pioneer (1904-1922 inclusive) is searchable and browseable via Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, a website hosted by the Library of Congress, as well as through the Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub (Minnesota Historical Society). The Bemidji Pioneer(1896-1903 inclusive), the Bemidji Daily Pioneer (1904-1922) are also available through the Chronicling America and Minnesota Newspaper Hub websites. 

Current MN Newspapers

Current issues of other local newspapers are also available in the library. They include: Duluth News Tribune, Fargo Forum, Grand Forks Herald, St. Paul Pioneer Press.

Northern Student

The Northern Student is Bemidji State University's student-run newspaper. The library holds microfilm (room 121) and paper copies of the paper, dating back to volume 1, 1929. Ask at the Circulation Desk (3rd floor) to see these copies. 

Other Historical Local Newspapers

Several other local newspapers are located on microfilm in Room 121. The microfilm can be accessed during library building hours and there are machines available to view and scan the microfilm. Printing is limited--we highly recommend you scan images to a storage device or email images to yourself, for a higher quality reproduction. A full list of historical local newspapers is available here. Some titles of note include:

  • Bagley Independent, 1899-1902
  • Bemidji Sentinal, 1901-1962
  • Cass Lake Speaking of Ourselves, 1975-1997
  • Farley Telegram, 1902
  • Ojibwe News, 1988-1995
  • Ojibwe Times, 1988
  • Red Lake News, 1915-1920
  • Red Lake Times, 1987-1988
  • Turtle River Pine Tree & Independent, 1899-1902
  • White Earth Progress, 1886-1889
  • White Earth Tomahawk, 1903-1926