2025 MnPALS Spring Gathering UAP Bibliography

At the BSU Library, we have some good UFO books!  Most of the books about UFOs/UAPs are in the TL 789 call number range. Here are a selection of books that can be checked out:

• Clark, Jerome. The UFO Encyclopedia: The Phenomenon from the Beginning. 2nd ed, Omnigraphics, 1998.

Call Number: Reference ~ 3rd Floor - ; TL789 .C555 1998

(Note: 3^rd edition is available online through the BSU Library:

https://login.bsuproxy.mnpals.net/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ogiufo

 

• Coulthart, Ross. In Plain Sight: An Investigation into UFOs and Impossible Science. HarperCollins Publishers, 2023.

Call Number: New Book Shelf ~ 3rd Floor - ; TL789 .C677 202

 

• Hynek, J. Allen. The UFO Experience: Evidence Behind Close Encounters, Project Blue Book, and the Search for Answers. Red Wheel/Weiser, 2023.

Call Number:  - 2nd Floor - ; TL789 .H9 1974

• University of Colorado (Boulder campus); Condon, Edward Uhler.  Final Report of the Scientific Study of Unidentified Flying Objects. Dutton, 1969.  Link to full text:  https://www.theblackvault.com/documentarchive/the-full-condon-committee-report-on-ufos-1968/

 

***These are currently in process of being added to the BSU Library collections, but can be requested!

• Blumenthal, Ralph. The Believer: Alien Encounters, Hard Science, and the Passion of John Mack. High Road Books, 2022.

• Pasulka, Diana Walsh. American Cosmic: UFOs, Religions, Technology. Oxford University Press, 2019.

 

***The following are not in the BSU Library, but can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan (for free!), and/or are readily available through Amazon, Barnes and Noble, etc.

• Andresen, Jensine, and Octavio A. Chon-Torres, editors. Extraterrestrial Intelligence: Academic and Societal Implications. Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2022.

• Eghigian, Greg. After the Flying Saucers Came: A Global History of the UFO Phenomenon. Oxford University Press, 2024.

• Elizondo, Luis. Imminent: Inside the Pentagon’s Hunt for UFOs. First edition., William Morrow, 2024.

• Kean, Leslie. UFOs: Generals, Pilots, and Government Officials Go on the Record. 1st paperback ed., Three Rivers, 2010.

• Kripal, Jeffrey J. How to Think Impossibly: About Souls, UFOs, Time, Belief, and Everything Else. 1st ed, University of Chicago Press, 2024.

• Kripal, Jeffrey J. The Superhumanities: Historical Precedents, Moral Objections, New Realities. University of Chicago Press, 2022.

• Masters, Michael P. The Extratempestrial Model. First trade paperback edition, Full Circle Press, 2022.

• Cooper, Helene, et al. “Glowing Auras and ‘Black Money’: The Pentagon’s Mysterious U.F.O. Program.” New York Times, 16 Dec. 2017, https://www.nytimes.com/2017/12/16/us/politics/pentagon-program-ufo-harry-reid.html.
• Gradowski, Laura, "Facing the Fringe" (2022). CUNY Academic Works.

https://academicworks.cuny.edu/gc_etds/5091

• Gradowski, Laura. “From Fringe to Mainstream: The Garcia Effect.” Studies in History and Philosophy of Science. (Forthcoming). https://philarchive.org/rec/GRAFFT-5

• Lomas, Tim, et al. “The Cryptoterrestrial Hypothesis: A Case for Scientific Openness to a Concealed Earthly Explanation for Unidentified Anomalous Phenomena.” Philosophy and Cosmology, vol. 33, 2024. DOI.org (Crossref), https://doi.org/10.29202/phil-cosm/33/3.

• Luftig, D. M., and E. S. Cukier. “Trends in UFO-Related Archival Collections.” Alki, vol. 40, no. 2, Aug. 2024. alki.pubpub.org, https://alki.pubpub.org/pub/n288780p/release/3.

• Stahlman, Gretchen R. “Closing the Information Gap in Unidentified Anomalous Phenomena (UAP) Studies.” Wisdom, Well-Being, Win-Win: 19th International Conference, iConference 2024, Changchun, China, April 15–26, 2024, Proceedings, Part I. Springer-Verlag, Berlin, Heidelberg, 310–320.  https://arxiv.org/abs/2403.15368.

• Yingling, Marissa E., et al. “Faculty Perceptions of Unidentified Aerial Phenomena.” Humanities and Social Sciences Communications, vol. 10, no. 1, May 2023, p. 246. DOI.org (Crossref), https://doi.org/10.1057/s41599-023-01746-3.

• Yingling, Marissa E., and Charlton W. Yingling. “Academic Freedom and the Unknown: Credibility, Criticism, and Inquiry among the Professoriate.” Humanities and Social Sciences Communications, vol. 11, no. 1, Aug. 2024, p. 987. DOI.org (Crossref), https://doi.org/10.1057/s41599-024-03351-4.

Archives of the Impossible (Rice University) YouTube channel:

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLMxNXSb8XVnOJsMQiLhFGH6i52PXOPDWY

Documentaries (available via streaming services):

UFOs – Investigating the Unknown (Netflix)

Age of Disclosure (forthcoming)

Cosmosis: UFOs & A New Reality

Society for UAP Studies: https://www.societyforuapstudies.org/

Scientific Coalition for UAP Studies: https://www.explorescu.org/

Mutual UFO Network (MUFON): https://mufon.com/

The Visible College: https://thevisiblecollege.org/

UAP Caucus: https://www.uapcaucus.com/

Project Blue Book (US National Archives): https://www.archives.gov/research/military/air-force/ufos

All-Domain Anomaly Resolution Office (AARO): https://www.aaro.mil/

UFOArchives (Libguide by Pete McDonnell, Bemidji State University) - Your Guide to finding UFO-related archives in libraries

https://libguides.bemidjistate.edu/ufoarchives

UAP Caucus Guides:

https://www.uapcaucus.com/guides

An introductory exploration of Unidentified Anomalous Phenomena (UAP) using our simple and intuitive frameworks. Designed as a starting point for community members, thought leaders, and those newly curious about UAP, these guides lay the groundwork for a multifaceted understanding.

The Debrief:

https://thedebrief.org/

“Rebelliously Curious in Exploring Frontier Science and Innovative Technology. The Debrief is a news site providing a public venue for credible reporting on science, tech, and defense news, with an eye for the cutting edge science and technology of tomorrow.”