LibGuides: History: Home

Welcome to the A.C. Clark Library Research Guide for History where you can find access to a variety of library and information resources relevant to your course of study. Browse our list of useful databases full of articles and newspapers below or use the tab on the left to locate digital archives full of primary sources.

Multidisciplinary indexes, abstracts and bibliographies

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, newspapers, magazines, and more covering most subjects.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections This link opens in a new window
Digital versions of American magazines and journals ranging from 1684-1912.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Resources relating to Indigenous People of North America. Citations from the 16th century to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles and books from many fields, especially relevant to the humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Articles relating to literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.

Historical News Reports

Bemidji Daily Pioneer (1904-1922) This link opens in a new window
The full-text of the Bemidji Daily Pioneer (1904-1922 inclusive) is searchable and browseable via Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, a website hosted by the Library of Congress, as well as through the Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub (Minnesota Historical Society). The Bemidji Pioneer(1896-1903 inclusive), the Bemidji Daily Pioneer (1904-1922) are also available through the Chronicling America and Minnesota Newspaper Hub websites. Please contact the BSU Interlibrary Loan Staff to request copies from the Bemidji Pioneer.
New York Times (1851-2013) with Index (1851-1993) This link opens in a new window
Articles from the New York Times newspaper from 1851-2013. For more current articles, use ProQuest US Newsstream.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
A large digitized archive of historical American newspapers by state, going back as far as the late 18th century. The material can be printed and downloaded. Collections are still selective, but the database continues to grow.

ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News content from U.S. national and regional newspapers, covering 1980 to current. It includes content from the Star Tribune (Minnesota), Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.