LibGuides: Social Work: Articles

Social Work Databases

Social Work Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts are the two major databases that contain articles from Social Work Journals. Typically, Social Work Abstracts will have fewer results than Social Services Abstracts, and they will have different articles. Consider searching both of them.

Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles related to social work. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers. Note: limited to 4 simultaneous users; if you are unable to access, try again later.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and dissertations related to social work, human services, and related areas.

Social Work Adjacent Databases

Social Work is a field of study that ties into and connects well with many other fields. For example, if you are interested in school social work, searching Education databases in addition to Social Work databases might be useful. Psychology, Allied Health, Criminal Justice, and Sociology are only a few of the other areas you might be interested in searching.

ERIC (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, and curriculum guides in education research.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health journal articles.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Contains leading nursing, allied health, and related publications, as well as many clinical nursing skills videos.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Articles and books relating to psychology, including behavioral science and mental health.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Journal articles relating to psychology.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles about criminal justice and related fields.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.

General Databases

The library subscribes to some multidisciplinary databases that might have articles that aren't found in some of the subject specific databases listed above.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, newspapers, magazines, and more covering most subjects.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports covering a wide range of contemporary issues. Good for selecting and narrowing a research topic.