LibGuides: General Reference: General Reference Sources

Encyclopedias and dictionaries

Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia articles, websites, videos, dictionary entries, and more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference materials like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks from most diciplines that can be searched together.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
Magazines, books, and primary source documents for general audiences.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports covering a wide range of contemporary issues. Good for selecting and narrowing a research topic.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Essays presenting multiple sides of current issues.

ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News content from U.S. national and regional newspapers.
New York Times (1851-2013) with Index (1851-1993) This link opens in a new window
Articles from the New York Times newspaper from 1851-2013. For more current articles, use ProQuest US Newsstream.
Star-Tribune (Minneapolis) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from the Star-Tribune from 1986-current.. Minneapolis Tribune, 1867-1922 presents full articles in PDF format and page maps in JPEG format.

Britannica Original Sources
Britannica Original Sources is a compilation of more than 420,000 primary source documents, complete books, and authentic images. Students, teachers, and parents have instant access to an online library full of the creations and discoveries of history's greatest minds as recorded in the authors' original words.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Coverage: 1790 to present.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, newspapers, magazines, and more covering most subjects.
General Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in the sciences, including biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles and books from many fields, especially relevant to the humanities and social sciences.
LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
Test preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources. Includes widely used tests such as GMAT, GRE, LSAT, TEAS, NCLEX, and NES Essential Academic Skills.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Articles relating to literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.