"The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative information on important matters in science and health policy." The site offers more than 8,500 titles in PDF format. Almost all of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book
Images, video, sound recordings, text resources, and more relating to birds and ornithology.
Birds of the World provides scientific information for 10,721 species of birds, with image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, recordings of bird’s songs and calls selected from the collection in Cornell’s Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds. The database includes scholarly content from four major celebrated works of ornithology: Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds and Bird Families of the World.
A breeding bird atlas is a comprehensive, systematic field survey of the occurrence and breeding status of breeding birds, conducted by citizen scientists during a limited time period.
A state Breeding Bird Atlas is comprehensive because it includes survey areas throughout the entire state and includes information on all species found in the state.
The Macaulay Library is the world's largest archive of animal sounds. The archive includes more than 18 million photos, audio, and video recordings covering 75 percent of the world's bird species, with an ever increasing numbers of insect, fish, frog, and mammal recordings as well. The more recently established video archive includes over 50,000 clips, representing over 3,500 species.
SORA is the world's first and largest open-access ornithological publications archive, sponsored by a group of ornithological societies and the University of New Mexico Libraries. The full-text archive is international in scope, and includes such titles as: The Auk (1884-1999), The Condor (1899-2000), The Journal of Field Ornithology (1930-1999), The North American Bird Bander (1976-2000), Pacific Coast Avifauna (1900-1974), Studies in Avian Biology (1978-1999), and The Wilson Bulletin (1889-1999).
The Encyclopedia of Life is an unprecedented effort to gather scientific knowledge about all animal and plant life where pictures, information, facts, and more are gathered together and made available to everyone, anywhere, at a moment's notice.
Understanding Evolution is a non-commercial, education website, teaching the science and history of evolutionary biology. This site is here to help you understand what evolution is, how it works, how it factors into your life, how research in evolutionary biology is performed, and how ideas in this area have changed over time.
