LibGuides: Expanded & New Online Content for Faculty & Students: Home

Special Note on Access to the Library Building During the Coronovirus (COVID-19) Outbreak

The physical space of the library will be closed until March 30. Rather than coming to the library in-person, at this point, we'd highly recommend emailing, chatting, or texting. Please visit our "Ask a Question" page for information on this: https://www.bemidjistate.edu/library/ask-a-question/

Please refer to Bemidji State University's Coronavirus update page for campus wide information: https://www.bemidjistate.edu/coronavirus/

Resources

Please note: These resources have been made temporarily available due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak to assist with the transition of classes online. Access end dates will vary by resource. IMPORTANT: some of these sites may ask you to create an account to access the resources. Please know that the BSU Library will not have access to these accounts, and if you choose to create an account, you do so according the terms set forth on those websites. TIP: our Interlibrary Loan services is still functional: should any site require to you to pay for an item, please use our Interlibrary Loan service to request it instead. Interlibrary Loan is a free service to BSU students, faculty, and staff.

If you have questions about these or any of our other resources, please do not hesitate to contact us.

eBooks / Textbooks

McGraw Hill
To ensure continued support to students and instructors impacted by COVID-19, we are making our core digital learning platforms, McGraw-Hill Connect and ALEKS available for free to any instructor who needs it for the remainder of this Spring 2020 term
VitalSource
Beginning March 16 through May 25, 2020, access to an expansive catalog of eTexts will be available for free to students at semester-calendar institutions who have been impacted by recent campus closures. Students simply log in to the VitalSource Bookshelf app using their school email address and can then view course materials from participating publishers via VitalSource’s Explore capabilities within Bookshelf.
Cengage
Cengage is providing free access to Cengage Unlimited through the end of the current academic term for US students attending colleges affected by COVID-19. This includes the entire Cengage catalog of eBooks, online courseware, study tools, and more. Important: Your students are eligible for free Cengage Unlimited access if your school has moved courses online, suspended on-campus courses, or otherwise modified instruction because of COVID-19. Students will receive free access whether or not you have adopted courseware or eBooks from Cengage. If your school is affected by COVID-19 and your students have not received this complimentary access, contact your representative. At the end of each 14 day free trial period, students will be prompted to start another free trial period until your school is no longer affected by COVID-19.
RedShelf
Providing you simple, free access to eBooks during complicated times. To ensure that all students have access to their course materials amidst the COVID-19 outbreak, we're partnering with the publishing community to provide you with up to 7 free eBooks from participating publishers. (Program applies to students at non-profit, semester-based schools, and access runs through May 25th.)
University of Michigan Press eBooks
To support remote teaching and research during the COVID-19 global health event, titles in this collection are free-to-read until April 30, 2020. Please note that titles are only downloadable by patrons of purchasing libraries, with the exception of some titles that are open access. Information about purchasing (including special pricing) is available at our website.
Ohio State University Press
For the duration of this crisis, all Ohio State University Press monographs, and the linguistics textbook language files, will be open and free to use through the Ohio State University Libraries’ Institutional Repository, The Knowledge Bank.

Video

Kanopy -- Streaming Video
Access Kanopy Streaming Videos through April 12th. Requires Star ID login.
Expanded Kanopy Access until April 12
This video demonstrates how to get access and sharable links to Kanopy streaming videos temporarily expanded collection

Expansion to Existing BSU Library Resources

Many vendors and publishers have expanded access to content on platforms the BSU Library already has access to. There should be no discernable differences, but these are the resources that now have expanded content:

Project Muse
Project MUSE is pleased to support its participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free on their platform. This expanded access runs through May or June, depending upon publisher.
Jstor
Per Jstor: "we are expediting the release of a new set of 26 journal archives in Public Health https://about.jstor.org/l/public-health/, making them openly accessible through June 30, 2020. For participating academic institutions that currently license some, but not all, JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections, we will turn on access to all unlicensed collections at no cost.
We are working with publishers to make more than 20,000 books available at no charge for JSTOR-participating academic institutions and secondary schools that do not participate in our books program. The number of books available through this effort is growing daily as more publishers opt in.
Further details about this program, participating publishers, and links to other useful resources can be found at https://about.jstor.org/covid19/ "

Journals--Coronavirus (COVID-19)-Related Research

Springer Publishing
Related research articles from Springer journals, as well as additional commentary on this topic and relevant books. All content listed here is free to access.
Journals of the American Medical Association (JAMA)
Coronavirus Resource Center
Taylor & Francis
In response to this global health issue, all coronavirus and COVID-19-related, peer-reviewed research published in Taylor & Francis journals is now free to access and available for anyone to read.
New England Journal of Medicine
A collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary. All Journal content related to the Covid-19 pandemic is freely available.
Mary Ann Liebert Publishers
This collection of articles is available free online to serve as open resources for the community as it works to ensure that the COVID-19 outbreak is fully understood and contained.
Emerald Publishing
We are making these resources freely available to access. Whilst these materials do not only relate to the current clinical challenges of COVID-19, they may provide relevant context to how the world reacted to other previous Coronavirus outbreaks, notably SARS. In addition, this content explores the wider impact on society and includes research on healthcare, education, homeworking, SCM and tourism. All content will be freely available via www.emerald.com/insight throughout this public health emergency. During this time, journal and book content will also be free to access through the World Health Organization and PubMed Central.
Jstor: Public Health Journals
Free access to new Public Health journals on JSTOR. 26 newly released Public Health journals available for free access through June 30, 2020.
Clarivate
Temporary access to Clarivate's collection of COVID-19-related research and late-breaking news.
University of California Press
In recognition of the impact of coronavirus on campus instruction and the rise of unplanned distance learning, University of California Press is pleased to make all of our online journals content free to all through June 2020.
Wolters Kluwer
COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Resources & Tools.
Our top priority is to protect the health and well-being of our communities and to arm our customers with the latest information available as the coronavirus (COVID-19) situation evolves. To support health professionals working around the clock to meet those most in need, we are making the following updates and resources available - at no charge - for clinicians, nurses and medical researchers, in response to new developments, evidence and guidance.
Karger
In December 2019, a novel coronavirus COVID-19 has resulted in the outbreak of a respiratory illness with its origin in Wuhan, China. Since then it has spread to other countries. Karger Publishers supports research in this area by providing free access to relevant articles (listed below). To enable fast access to research articles, we have signed the consensus statement by Wellcome about Sharing research data and findings relevant to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak.

Number of articles in this package: 51