Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Research for ENGL Argument & Exposition (w/ Julia Stephani)

Research for ENGL Argument & Exposition

The purpose of this course guide is to assist you with doing research for Argument & Exposition | ENGL 2152-90. It includes resources to use for searching for scholarly resources, some library services you can use, and how to contact a librarian for further assistance. Use the menu on the left to navigate. 

Using the library's resources for research.

The library provides you access to over 100 different article, book, and research databases. But if you know these simple steps, you should be able to search for resources in any of them! All databases or catalogs, just like search engines like Google, have 3 things in common: 

  1. You'll perform a search for your topic.
  2. You'll get a list of results.
  3. There will be some mechanism to access or obtain those results. 

Where to start? Here are some tips on using the library's resources listed below for learning more about the topic of COVID-19:

  • CQ Researcher and World News Digest are excellent resources to start your research for this topic. CQ Researcher provides in-depth reports on current issues (COVID-19, media, immigration, climate change, gun control, etc), and World News Digest provides a chronology of news articles and infographics on current events (See the video tutorial for these two resources in the left-hand menu.). 
  • If you just want to dive in with your searching, try OneSearch. This will allow you to search almost all of the Library's online article databases, e-books, and books from our physical collection all at once. 
  • Sometimes the large amount of results from OneSearch can be overwhelming. If that's the case, I recommend trying an article database like Academic Search Premier, or a database that is specific to the subject you're researching. You can find specific databases by choosing the subject most closely related to your topic in our Research Guides.
  • If you're looking for some background information on a topic, try Britannica Online.

If you have any problems accessing these resources or finding what you need, please don't hesitate to contact us for help. See the menu or chat box on the left. 

 

Here are some resources to help you get started with your research: