It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Premier contains indexing for nearly 16,000 publications, with full text for more than 4,700 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for nearly 140 journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier contains full text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. It contains more than 190,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Full-text archive of core academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as books and other materials. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. Note: Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 2 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world’s leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE offer top quality book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE’s scholarly journal content.
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 serials publications (backfiles to 1952), and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Your search results will include Encyclopedia Britannica and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia articles as well as media, Web sites, and videos. Magazine and journal articles from EBSCO are also available. Finally, from Merriam-Webster, you will see results for the dictionary and thesaurus as well as the notable quotations.
A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. The online version contains all the printed materials that appear in the complete 23 volume set. Includes words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
Digitized images from the American Antiquarian Society of the pages of American magazines and journals. This all-in-one search combines Series 1-5 (1684-1820, 1821-1837, 1838-1852, 1853-1865, 1866-1912).
The National Geographic Magazine Archive, provides full-text searching of articles from National Geographic Magazine from its beginning in 1888, up until 1994. This comprehensive archive is an essential tool for researchers of all ages for the study of science, nature, geography and much more.
Provides comprehensive digital coverage back to 1851 for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper. Also provides deep indexing to such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, and obituaries. To search more recent years, use ProQuest US Newsstream.
The American Anthropological Association (AAA) is "the world's largest organization of individuals interested in anthropology." The site contains anthropology news and resources for students, teachers and researchers.
The Anthropological Papers, published continuously since 1907, are monographic volumes that include some of the great ethnographies of the 20th century, particularly on North American Indians. Several illustrious anthropologists published their work in the Anthropological Papers, as well as many past and present curators of the AMNH Division of Anthropology. Prior to 1930, large special reports were published in the Memoirs.
"The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. Recordings in the Jukebox were issued on record labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment, which has granted the Library of Congress a gratis license to stream acoustical recordings." ~ from the website
The recordings include a wide variety of music, operas, ethnic characterizations, comedies, monologues, dialogues, recitations, blues, whistling, speeches, yodeling and more. The recordings are available in streaming audio only, and not available for download.